cdl test answers
Posted: 02 January 2011 10:21 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2011-01-02

Commercial Drivers License, or more commonly known as CDL, is what we need to obtain employment driving a commercial vehicle. A commercial vehicle is a truck, tractor and trailer, or a bus, with a gross vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds or more. To get a job driving one of these commercial vehicles, you must have a CDL. I have a CDL, but I’m not a professional driver, I’m a mechanic. I need my CDL to test drive the big rigs I repair.

Obtaining a CDL can be time consuming and expensive depending on you. If you don’t have any experience driving a truck or bus you must get some kind of training. You don’t have to go to a school if you know someone who already has a truck, and may be willing to teach you how to drive it. Some companies will also let you “gain experience” by apprenticeship, teaming up with another more experienced driver, but you really need to already have your CDL. Still other companies will even pay to have you go to a driving school, but there’s a catch, you will probably have to sign a contract to drive for them for a certain number of years.

There are over 80 items that you must check on your truck before you go out on the road. This is called the pre-trip inspection or the “walk around”. You must check these items to ensure safety, not only for you, but for the motorists around you. You don’t need anything accidentally falling off of your truck while you are going down the road, or when you are trying to stop you find out your brakes are out of adjustment. You don’t need to be a mechanic to test your truck, but you’ll probably need one if you find something wrong, and the best time to find something wrong is during the walk around.